Mauritius is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 1,100 kilometres (700 miles) east of Madagascar. The country forms part of the Mascarene Islands, which include the neighbouring islands of Reunion, Saint Brandon and Rodrigues. 

The area of the country is 2,040 square kilometres, a similar size to the island of Tenerife, and its modern capital is Port Louis. Within this compact area, Mauritius enjoys a huge variety of superb natural and man-made filming locations, described in the Locations section.

Mauritius has strong cultural connections with Europe and elsewhere. The Dutch settled on the island from 1598 until 1710. Mauritius became a French colony in 1715 and was renamed Isle de France, before the British took control in 1810 during the Napoleonic Wars. The country became an independent state on 12 March 1968 and Republic within the Commonwealth on 12 March 1992.  Mauritius also has strong historic connections to South Africa and India, and is an important international trading partner with dozens of countries around the world.

Mauritius has a population of over 1.3 million which is composed of several ethnicities, including people of Indian, African, Chinese and European descent. Most Mauritians are multilingual and English, French, Creole and Asian languages are commonly used.

In its endeavor to develop new sectors of activity within the creative arts industry, the Government of Mauritius, through the Board of Investment has introduced the Film Rebate Scheme.  The scheme allows 40 per cent refund on all the Qualifying Production Expenditures (QPPE) incurred by a film producer in respect of his/her project in Mauritius.  Beside feature Film, The Film Rebate Scheme applies to other category of production such as commercials, TV serials/programmes and documentary programmes.